Dokkhuset: Supersilent

We conclude the symposium with a grand concert. Supersilent will take you on a sonic journey through silence and noise.

Supersilent consists of Arve Henriksen, Helge Sten and Ståle Storløkken. The group was created when the trio Veslefrekk, consisting of Henriksen, Storløkken and Jarle Vespestad collaborated with Deathprod (Helge Sten) for the first time at Nattjazz in Bergen in 1997. The mix between the experimental jazz elements of the trio, together with Deathprod's electronic approach to noise and drone music was an immediate success, thus giving birth to Supersilent as a quartet.

Since then they have released 13 full length albums on Rune Grammofon, each of them numerically titled. Several of said releases garnered international attention far beyond the realms of jazz, amongst other 6 which was given the title Best New Music by Pitchfork in 2003. Drummer Vespestad left the group in 2009, and Supersilent continued as a trio. Through their career, they have collaborated with musicians such as Terje Rypdal and John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin), and remain today one of the most recognized and celebrated groups in improvised and experimental music throughout the whole world.